Close

Bedrooms

The ten individually furnished bedrooms all have ensuite facilities, colour television and tea and coffee making facilities.

Most command uninterrupted and quite unsurpassed views over the 1600 acre parkland grounds, described by The National Trust for Scotland as a "gem of outstanding beauty".

Rooms at Culcreuch Castle look beyond a kaleidoscope of spectacular scenery of hills, moorland, lochs, burns and woods comprising the Endrick Valley and the Campsie Fells above.

All the public rooms are decorated in period style and furnished with antiques giving the aura and grace of a bygone age. Log fires create warmth and intimacy and the candlelit evening meals in the panelled Dining Room make for most romantic occasions, well complemented by freshly prepared local produce and a carefully selected wine cellar.

The Baron's Suite

Barons Suite

Originally the 18th and 19th century Barons of Culcreuchs' private quarters, the Barons' Suite is the largest of the castle bedrooms and occupies a prime position on the top (third) floor overlooking the front of the castle and with breathtaking views across the front lawns and the loch to the Campsie Feels beyond. Accommodation includes a four-poster bed, lounge area and bathroom with corner bath and separate shower.

The Napier Suite

Napier Suite

In 1632 the Culcreuch estate was purchased by Robert Napier, second son of Lord Napier of Merchiston, famous for his invention of logarithms. The Napier family held the estate for five generations and are credited with building the north and east extensions to the original tower in 1721. This second-floor four-poster suite, in the east extension, overlooks the front of the castle, the loch and the Campsie Fells and has a bathroom with bath and shower.

The Honeymoon Suite

Honeymoon Suite

Is a large four-poster double bedroom with an en-suite bath and separate shower on the fourth floor of the castle. Situated in the battlements at the top of the original keep with views of the Campsie Fells through the battlements.

The Chinese Bird Room

Chinese Bird Room

This room is possibly the most unique in the castle and is situated on the second floor within the six foot walls of the original tower keep. Its walls are covered in hand-painted Chinese wallpaper.

The Keep Room

The Keep room

Overlooking the north drive and an array of exotic trees, glimpses of rabbits playing between the daffodils and rhododendrons are a common sight from the second-floor room situated in the original tower with its six feet thick outside walls. The musical ghost which haunts the Chinese Bird Room next door has been heard in the Keep Room too, though far less often. Accommodation offered is a four-poster bed with separate shower room.

The Seton of Gargunnock Room

The Seton of Gargunnock room

The last of the Galbraiths to own Culcreuch was Robert, 17th Chief of the Galbraiths, who was forced to flee to Ireland, bankrupt, to escape his debts. He gave the estate to his brother-in-law, Alexander Seton of Gargunnock. The Seton of Gargunnock Room is a small, warm and cosy second-floor room, overlooking the front lawns and the loch with stunning views of the Campsie Fells, offering a double bed with separate shower room.

The Spiers Room

The Spiers room

The Napiers sold Culcreuch to Peter Spiers (a relation by marriage) in 1769. Peter Spiers was a Glasgow merchant and his arrival marked the entry of Fintry into the world of industry. This short excursion into the industrial world spawned the village of Fintry as we know it today, downstream from old Fintry by the Kirk and sited around the new mills. The Spiers Room, on the second floor, is one of two twin-bedded rooms and overlooks the Pinetum, lawns and quadrangle to the east of the castle with views down the south drive. The bathroom includes a bath with shower over.

The Family Snug

The Family Snug room

The Family Snug situated in its own wing on the east side of the castle comprises a suite of three rooms including a pine bathroom with bath and separate shower and a small bunk room. The double-bedded main room overlooks the lawns and quadrangle and has views of the Pinetum and the south drive. Maximum occupancy of the Family Snug is two adults and two children. Please note, the Family Snug is not recommended for children over 12 year of age.

The Menzies Room

The Menzies room

The Menzies family owned Culcreuch until the present Laird, Andrew Haslam, and his family purchased the estate in 1984. Sir Walter Menzies' son's widow, Ruth Menzies, lived in the Menzies Room for many years after her husband died in the mid 1930s - until her death in 1975. The Menzies Room is the only bedroom on the first floor and is offered with twin beds and bath with shower over. The view from the room looks over the lawns to the stable block with glimpses of the Pinetum and views down the south drive.

Courtyard rooms

Courtyard Rooms

These rooms are part of the original stable block, situated 60 feet from the main castle building. Each has a king-sized double bed and a set of full size bunk beds, some rooms have an en-suite bath with a shower over and some have an ensuite shower room with handrails.

"Fantastic stay, first class staff, very friendly. One of the best dinners we had in Scotland - We loved it!"

- Uwe Schreiner