Ballinglough Castle sleeps up to 18 people in 9 bedrooms.
The hall, with its gallery and high level plasterwork, is one of the most charming in Ireland. When Sir Hugh O’Reilly changed his name to Nugent around 1800, much of the fortune that came with the change of name was invested in the castle. Interestingly the hall is one of three rooms in the castle to have not required redecoration since the late 1930s and the gentle aging of over 75 years is the envy of many an interior designer.
The morning room to the right of the main hall has recently been redecorated as a family/ TV room, to ensure that a younger generation is never far from their comfort zone.
The drawing room and dining room, which were built by Sir Hugh over 200 years ago and overlook the lake, are an acclaimed pair of Georgian rooms. At the time of building it is believed that their windows were as tall as in any private home in the country and the benefits are palpable.
The four master bedroom suites with their four poster beds are just what you might hope for in such a home and, along with the five supporting bedrooms, offer all the comforts required by a guest in a modern country house.