Following the defeat of the Desmoids in 1584, the castle plus 3,000 acres of land were granted as a perpetual lease to Robert Blennerhassett, the rent being one red rose to be presented each year on Midsummer’s Day. This noble family and their descendants occupied Ballyseede until 1966.
Ballyseede Castle is a large three-story block over a basement, with two curved bows on the entrance front and another bow at the south side and a battlemented parapet. Inside the impressive lobby, Doric columns lead to an elegant wooden bifurcating staircase of fine oak joinery, which is almost unique in Ireland.
In the Library Bar there is a great carved oak chimney-piece over-mantle dated 1627. There is a splendid Banqueting Hall where feastings and entertainment were carried out in a grand manner.