History

866

866 - Tuatha Da Danaans

Tuatha Da Danaans

The Lough Cutra Estate has a long and varied history. The stunning countryside surrounding the castle contains much history, dating back to the Tuatha Da Danaans. Evidence of old churches, cells and monasteries are prolific in the area and a number of the islands on the lake are even home to the remnants of stone alters. The history of the estate can be traced back as far as 866 A.D.

1797

1797 - Lough Cutra Castle

Lough Cutra Castle

In 1797 Colonel Vereker decided to employ the world-renowned architect John Nash to design Lough Cutra Castle. Nash was involved in the construction of Buckingham Palace and also designed Mitchelstown Castle, Regents Park Crescent and his own East Cowes Castle.

The castle itself was built during the Gothic revival period and is idyllically situated overlooking the estate's 1000 acre lake. The building of the castle was overseen by the Pain brothers (who later designed and built the Gate House at Dromoland Castle).

1811

1811 - Building

Building

Most of the building work was complete by 1811. The original building included 25 basement rooms and the cost of the building was estimated to be £80,000 at the time, which equates to more than £4,500,000 today.

1859

1859 - Extensions

Extensions

Great attention was paid to the planting of trees, location of the deer park, and creation of new avenues. An American garden was created to the south west of the castle and large extensions added to the building. The entire building operations were completed in 1859.

Viscount Gort was forced to sell the castle and estate in the late 1840's, having bankrupted himself as a result of creating famine relief. The estate was purchased by General Sir William Gough, an eminent British General. The Goughs set about refurbishing the castle to their own taste and undertook further construction work, adding large extensions to the original building, including a clock tower and servant quarters.

;