Glin, Co. Limerick
Glin Castle is the ancestral home of the Knights of Glin and still the family home of the FitzGeralds. The original ruined Glin Castle, besieged in 1601, lies nearby in the village of Glin. The present castle was built in the 1780s. It has exquisite Neo-Classical interiors, a delicate Adam–style ceiling, grand entrance hall with Corinthian columns, a large dining room and three comfortable reception rooms for relaxing and entertaining in.
The main building has 12 exceptional bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, ranged over two floors - all beautifully decorated with porcelain and pictures collected over generations, arranged by the late Knight of Glin. There are three slightly smaller en-suite bedrooms in the adjoining wing, with views looking over the garden – fifteen bedrooms in all.
There is an up-to-date kitchen with everything needed to cater for up to 30 people staying in the house.
The gardens are exceptional – with pleasure grounds at the back of the house – formal lawns, a picturesque stream, meadow, winding gravel walks and ancient oak trees. The walled Kitchen Garden is full of charm, with romantic borders, rose arches and a vegetable and herb plot. Adjoining it is the original stone and cobbled Stable Yard.
There is a strenuous 7 km walk, which begins at the entrance to the drive and runs up the hill to a platform where, on a clear day, the view stretches down to the mouth of the Shannon and back towards Limerick.